National Football Foundation Honorees
December 9, 2008 9:00 pm EST

Several Buckeyes or former Buckeyes will be honored tonight at the NFF awards dinner in New York City.  Former coaches John Cooper(Head Coach 1988-2000)  and Lou Holtz(Assistant Coach 1968) will be recognized for entering in the College Hall of Fame in 2008, Brian Robiskie is one of the members of this years NFF National Scholar-Athlete class, and Gene Smith will be recognized as this year's winner of the John L. Toner Award. 

Wells OSU's MVP
December 7, 2008 10:45 pm EST

Running back Chris "Beanie" Wells has been voted Ohio State's most valuable player this season. The announcement was made today at the team's Football Appreciation Banquet.

Wells also received the Archie Griffin Award as outstanding offensive player, the W.W. Hayes Award as outstanding player in the Michigan game and the Rex Kern Award as the outstanding offensive back. Linebacker James Laurinaitis and cornerback Malcolm Jenkins shared the Bill Willis Award as the outstanding defensive player.

Other award winners: Ryan Lukens (John Galbreath, academics); Terrelle Pryor (first-year offensive player); Nathan Williams first-year defensive player); Shaun Lane (Ike Kelley, special teams standout); Laurinaitis (Randy Gradishar, linebacker); Brian Robiskie (Paul Warfield, receiver); Jenkins and Kurt Coleman (Arnie Chonko, defensive back); Tyson Gentry (Bo Rein, most inspirational); Alex Boone (Jim Parker, offensive lineman); Coleman (SAE, Homecoming game standout); Thaddeus Gibson (Agonis Rick Meyer, Penn State game standout); Rory Nicol (Jim Marshall Warrior); and Nader Abdallah (Jack Stephenson, defensive lineman).

Jenkins and Laurinaitis Get All-American Honors
December 5, 2008 7:00 am EST

Linebacker James Laurinaitis and cornerback Malcolm Jenkins were named to the American Football Coaches Association team yesterday.  It marks the third straight year that Laurinaitis has been an All-American. Safety Mike Doss was the last Buckeyes three-timer, named from 2000 to 2002.  He became the eighth OSU three-time All-American, a list that includes Chic Harley, Wes Fesler, Lew Hinchman, Merle Wendt, Archie Griffin, Tom Skladany and Michael Doss.

The coaches' team was the first to be announced of the five major All-America teams recognized by the NCAA. The others are awarded by the Associated Press, Football Writers Association, Walter Camp Foundation and The Sporting News.  Jenkins was named to the Walter Camp first team last season but was not on the coaches' team. The senior has 54 tackles and three interceptions this season.

Where Are They Now: Former OSU Assistant New Head Coach at Toledo
December 5, 2008 6:30 am EST

Toledo hired Tim Beckman as coach, selecting the Oklahoma State defensive coordinator to take over its program.  Beckman, a native of Berea, Ohio, and a former defensive backs coach at Ohio State, has spent the past two seasons at Oklahoma State, where the 14th-ranked Cowboys (9-3) gave up 27 points per game this season in the Big 12.  Before going to Oklahoma State, he spent two years at Ohio State and six seasons as defensive coordinator at Bowling Green, Toledo's rival in the Mid-American Conference.  He coached with two of his mentors, Jim Tressel at Ohio State and Florida's Urban Meyer. Beckman and Meyer were together for two seasons at Bowling Green.  He will face Tressel next season when Toledo plays Ohio State on September 19th in Cleveland.  He replaces Tom Amstutz, who announced his resignation in November near the end of his eighth season.

Laurinaitis and Pryor Win Big Ten Honors
November 25, 2008 6:30 pm EST

The Big Ten honored Ohio State as senior linebacker James Laurinaitis won defensive player of the year and quarterback Terrelle Pryor was named freshman of the year.  It was Laurinaitis' second straight player of the year honor. He has 121 tackles, four sacks, two interceptions and a forced fumble this season.  With Laurinaitis' repeat award, OSU now has had a player win top defensive honors in five of the past seven years, dating to safety Mike Doss (coaches, 2002), end Will Smith (2003) and linebacker A.J. Hawk (2005).  His closest competition for the award may have been teammate Malcolm Jenkins. Both players were unanimous first-team all-Big Ten selections -- Laurinaitis by the media and Jenkins by the coaches.  Each player received his third straight first-team honor.

Pryor took over as OSU's starter in the fourth game and led the Buckeyes to an 8-1 finish. He is the Big Ten's most efficient passer, completing 62.5 percent of his passes for 1,245 yards and 12 touchdowns with only four interceptions.  Pryor became the sixth Buckeyes player to win freshman of the year, joining Robert Smith (1990), Korey Stringer (1992), Orlando Pace (1994), Andy Katzenmoyer (1996) and Maurice Clarett (2002).

Besides Laurinaitis and Jenkins, offensive tackle Alex Boone was the only other Ohio State player to be named first team.  Named to the second team were running back Chris "Beanie" Wells, linebacker Marcus Freeman and safety Kurt Coleman (media only). Wells was a first-team pick last season but missed three games because of a foot injury this year.

Buckeyes Wait to Hear Their Bowl Fate
November 23, 2008 5:00 pm EST

I mentioned it after the Penn State-Iowa game and now it came true.  The Nittany Lion loss put us back in the conference race but hurt our Rose Bowl and BCS hopes.  Sure enough, had Penn State won that game, we would know right now that they would be in the National Title game, and barring some strange situation, we would be playing in the Rose Bowl.  As it turns out, Penn State will be playing either USC or Oregon State on January 1st.  The Buckeyes on the other hand are down to three possible bowl destinations.  As the co-champs in the Big Ten, the Capital One bowl would love the Buckeye fans to fill the hotels and restaurants in the greater Orlando area.  My prediction for the opponent is Georgia.  However, they still have an outside chance at a BCS bid.  The Big East and ACC champions are going to go to Miami and play in the Orange "we don't deserve to be a BCS team" Bowl.  They could go to the Sugar Bowl and play the loser of the Alabama-Florida game.  As they went their last year and most folks don't want to see us play the SEC again, this may not happen.  The more likely BCS destination would be the Fiesta Bowl against the Big 12 South team that does not go to the Big 12 championship.  Don't ask me why but I think that will be Texas.  I predict Oklahoma will eventually pass Texas in the BCS, if they haven't already.  The big thing against us here is that would leave Utah for the Sugar Bowl, and they may not want to have the non-BCS qualifier their two years in a row.

As they say, there is still a lot of football to play, just not by the Buckeyes.     
Buckeye 50 Yard Line
News November-December
Click B50 Logo to return to Home Page
11/23/08 is an independent site and is not affiliated with or endorsed by Ohio State
 or the Ohio State Athletic Department. All original material is Copyright 2000-2009
by PhotOSU, all rights reserved.
Home      Buckeye 50 Archives Main Menu      Contact Us      About Buckeye50      Feedback
2000-2009, All Rights Reserved